Rape Culture Or Sex Culture? Part 1b

ANOTHER ANGLE OF THE STORY- LOOKING THROUGH A MAN’S EYES

When I dropped my last article, it run a lot of waves down the spine of many men across the globe. My phone did not stop beeping from dawn to dusk. There is always “THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STORY” and for me, woman activism goes beyond just fighting for rights. It is rerouting the whole female mentality, it making women believe they can too, it is building self esteem, self confidence and self respect for Today’s woman. It is making them understand that the only way they can reach that level of equality or some reasonable amount of equity, is when they begin to take challenges that go beyond them. The last time My phone beeped that day, a thick masculine voice spoke up and said “ AbyStClaire, let me tell you a story, “ a young female friend asked me to lend her some money, initially I didn’t want to, she wanted a total of GHC700. I told her I could only get part of it for her, I gave her a total of GHC500, which I expected her to pay back, AbyStClaire, the following week she came to my apartment and into my bedroom, laid there naked, I did not touch her, she came back and repeated same the following week, I was strong enough to resist. She left my room displeased and never paid back my money. AbyStClaire had my weakness taken a better side of me, she could have accused of rape or coercing her into sleeping with her.”For a minute I was silent, I realized there was more work to be done, because this was not normal either. The mindset of the 21st century woman that the only way they can breakthrough is using their bodies needs to changed

Yours Truly,

AbyStClaire

1. Had he taken his chances would we have said he took advantage of her?

2. How do we get the 21st century woman to understand that they are worth more than just sex?

Please join our discussions and watch out for EPISODE 2. Prostitute or Vulnerable?

Leave a comment